The "10th Anniversary of the Republic" Charity Set, 1928

To commemorate the successful first decade of the First Republic, a stamp was issued on 5 November 1928 portraying the First Federal President, Dr Michael Hainisch, who was about to retire. There are four values, all having the same portrait design: 10g brown, 15g dark carmine, 30g dark grey, and 40g dark blue. They were sold only at selected Post Offices, and only in complete sets at twice the face value, to raise funds for war orphans and children of the war-injured (so a set cost 1S90.) The stamps were designed by Rudolf Junk and engraved by Ferdinand Schirnböck. 100,000 sets were printed in recess at the Austrian State Printing Works and line perforated 12½ The stamps were valid until 30 April 1929.

After the declaration of the Emperor Karl on 11 November 1918 and the proclamation of the Democratic Republic of German Austria on the 12th, Karl Seitz became Head of State, with Karl Renner as Chancellor. It was this temporary entity which negotiated and signed the Peace Treaty at St. Germain with the Allies on 10 September 1919. A new constitution was drawn up and elections held; Dr Renner retired and Dr Mayr became Chancellor in July 1920. The Austrian Republic, formally recognised by the Allies, came into existence on 1 October 1920 and Dr Michael Hainisch (1858-1940) was elected as its First President on 9 December 1920. He was unanimously re-elected for a second term in December 1924 and retired from the Presidency on 5 December 1928.