The Austrian Writers Charity Set of 1931

On 12 September 1931 a set of six beautiful portrait stamps (ANK524-529) was issued to depict Austrian Writers: 10g purple: Ferdinand Raimund (1790-1836); 20g grey: Franz Grillparzer (1791-1872); 30g vermilion: Johann Nestroy (1801-1862); 40g blue: Adalbert Stifter (1805-1868); 50g green; Ludwig Anzengruber (1839-1889); 1S brown: Peter Rosegger (1843-1918).

The set was designed as a unity by Dr Rudolf Junk but three engravers were employed, each engraving two values. The 10g and 50g stamps were engraved by Arthur Schuricht (b.30.12.1882 in Leipzig, d. 16.8.1945 in Vienna), a teacher at the School of Industrial Art whose first stamp engraving commission this was. The 20g and 40g stamps were engraved by Professor Ferdinand Lorber (b.16.11.1883 in Vienna; d. 14.5.1957 in Vienna) who had just joined the State Printing Works from the Austrian National Bank; in 1933 he was to become a Professor at the School of Graphic Art. Finally the 30g and 1 schilling values were engraved by Rudolf Zenziger who had already engraved some of the 1926 Niebelungen stamps.

The stamps were printed with plate numbers in the upper sheet margins and were line perforated 12½. They were sold only at selected Post Offices (though could be ordered from others) in complete sets at double face value in aid of the unemployed youth of Austria. A total of 65,000 sets was printed; the stamps were valid until 30 April 1932.